Don’t be Afraid to Lean.

It’s been a difficult school year for me. And yesterday was particularly difficult. I was feeling down, feeling slightly defeated, feeling inept at my job. A few things then happened, though:

  • I got an out-of-the-blue message from a past student, “just checking in–I hope all is well.” I mentioned briefly that it had been a rough day (as I was at the end of my day) but that overall life is going wonderfully (which it absolutely is, but that’s sometimes difficult to remember throughout a tough work day). We then entered into a conversation in which this now grown-up reminded me that I am good at my job, that I make a difference, that I impacted his life.
  • I was reminded by this simple conversation that I have a box of letters that students have written me, and it is a solid reminder that I am doing good work here. This box is currently packed in a bigger box as I prepare to move houses, but just knowing it exists was surprisingly encouraging.
  • I had dinner with my family. They always know how to cheer me up and build me up. They listen and share in my plights, validating how I feel, but also bringing kind words to remind me why I do what I do.
  • I got a sweet note from my incredible fiance. He had earlier placed it in my lunch box, to find when I packed it this morning. His encouragement and love fills me up and gives me more love to share with my students and the world.

The point. God knew I needed help yesterday, and he used all of these people in my life to keep me going, to keep me working hard, to keep me pouring out love to these kids in my classroom.

The challenge. All of this reminds me that I am not able to do it all alone. That we must lean on others and, most of all, on God. Sometimes this is difficult as our pride gets in the way and we want to be completely self-sufficient, but I implore you: Don’t be afraid to lean. It is more freeing than confining, more strengthening than weakening, more calming than nerving.

“Carry one another’s burdens; in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.” Galations 6:2

One thought on “Don’t be Afraid to Lean.

Leave a Reply

